• Blogs I Follow

  • South El Monte Arts Posse

    Burn The Wagon: Call For Submissions

               Burn the Wagon Chapbook Series Our city’s official logo proudly proclaims El Monte’s place at the “end of the Santa Fe Trail.” The white covered wagon at the center of the logo places white Americans as El Monte’s “pioneers.” Indigenous people that occupied these lands before and the Mexican, Latino, […]

Brooklyn Book Festival

This past Sunday saw another Brooklyn Book Festival, the largest free literary event in New York City.

The past few years I’ve read and signed books. This time I just planned to walk around and run into folks I knew. And I did!

First I checked out the Northwestern University Press booth to pay a visit to my fabulous publicist Rudy. He had a number of great books displayed, including a new historical novel by Valerie Sayers, THE POWERS. While I was there Rudy managed to sell a copy of my book to a woman from Peru named Marisa. I signed the book for her. That’s what I’m talking about!

DSCN4657

I always check out the Las Comadres/La Casa Azul Bookstore booth. They had this wonderful lineup of authors:

Lulu Delacre
Carlos Andrés Gómez
Tim Z. Hernández  (BE SURE TO CHECK OUT HIS NOVEL MANANA MEANS HEAVEN!)
Linda Rodriguez
Sergio Troncoso
Cristina García
Michelle Herrera Mulligan
Duncan Tonatiuh
Raquel Cepeda
Lyn Di Iorio
Ellen Suazo

Here I am with Linda Rodriguez, author of EVERY LAST SECRET and EVERY BROKEN TRUST. She and Sergio Troncoso were about to drive north to do a reading at the Hudson Valley Writers Center. They’re two busy authors!

??????????

I saw some other friends too, including fellow Macondistas (of the Macondo Foundation). I love this booth!

It was a beautiful day in Brooklyn!

DSCN4674

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Silvia Sanchez-Plummer

     /  September 25, 2013

    Looks like you had a wonderful day. Too bad I don’t live in NY. Besos, Mom Date: Wed, 25 Sep 2013 02:35:42 +0000 To: sil1618@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Young to Publishing Writers

Young to Publishing Writers

Story366

One story per day for an entire year.

Tropics of Meta

historiography for the masses

