• Blogs I Follow

  • South El Monte Arts Posse

    Burn The Wagon: Call For Submissions

               Burn the Wagon Chapbook Series Our city’s official logo proudly proclaims El Monte’s place at the “end of the Santa Fe Trail.” The white covered wagon at the center of the logo places white Americans as El Monte’s “pioneers.” Indigenous people that occupied these lands before and the Mexican, Latino, […]

Happy Birthday, BOLERO!

My “book baby”, as one friend would say, turns 1-year-old this month! I’m happy to report that she (?) is healthy and thriving. Let me update you on all our activities:

NEW COVERAGE

Tuesday, Michael Sedano posted a review of BOLERO on La Bloga: http://labloga.blogspot.com/2012/06/review-banned-books-update-on-line.html

Today, Melinda Palacio, author of Ocotillo Dreams posted an interview of me on La Bloga: http://labloga.blogspot.com/2012/06/coast-to-coast-interview-with-toni.html

Melinda and I were on the First Book Panel at the Santa Barbara Writers Conference last week with Ramona Ausubel and Amy Franklin-Willis. Our moderator Barnaby Conrad III happened to read the very same excerpt that I read in my book trailer!

NEW EVENT

I’ll be doing a reading at the recently opened La Casa Azul Bookstore in East Harlem on Monday, July 9th with fellow Macondistas Levi Romero, Ron Drummond, and Charles Rice-Gonzalez. The bookstore is normally closed on Mondays, but they’re opening it up just for us! We’ll be there 6-8PM. I’m so thrilled to be doing my first reading at this store, dedicated to Latino literature.

NEW RECOGNITION

Earlier this month, BOLERO was named a Mariposa Award finalist and picked up an Honorable Mention. My baby is a high achiever!

I write this post while vacationing in beautiful hometown South El Monte, the setting and inspiration for the book. It’s been an amazing year, and I look forward to seeing BOLERO continue to blossom and find her way in the world.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Marytza

     /  June 22, 2012

    Happy Birthday, BOLERO!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Young to Publishing Writers

Young to Publishing Writers

Story366

One story per day for an entire year.

Tropics of Meta

historiography for the masses

